04
Aug
08

Back to Running

My very manly knee

Today I ran for the first time in 8 weeks. Four miles in a little over 35 minutes. Slow, but for me it was a total victory. I’d been sidelined with a knee injury that was brought about by over-training and left me limping for weeks. I didn’t listen to my body and paid the price when my knee gave out during a boxing class. I saw an orthopedic surgeon shortly after the injury who took x-rays, saw nothing serious and prescribed taking it easy for a few weeks. He specifically prohibited kickboxing, running and anything that involved lateral stress on the knee joint. So I grumpily obeyed, going to the gym occasionally to use the elliptical machine and lift some weights. Boring.

I forget how much I really need to run and fight to keep happy, but this forced layoff sure has reminded me. Glad to be back.

2 Responses to “Back to Running”


  1. August 4, 2008 at 8:40 am

    you need to rest your knee for awhile it might be boring but that’s good for you.. 😉

  2. August 15, 2008 at 3:31 pm

    Hey George – hadn’t realized you were sidelined on the running front. Glad to hear you’re back. Slow and steady … Went through my own injury about four months ago (an *almost* torn, translated as “slightly nicked” calf muscle – excruciating) … Finally back in the saddle, well in my running shoes at least, in the last month and loving it too.


Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

RSS Deadliest Feed Alive

  • Here’s the pitch…
    Leila is moving on to the production side of the new media business and I’m starting a new search for an assistant to help me as Head of New Media and SVP in Business Affairs at ICM. Interested in helping disrupt and create a new industry? Here’s what I’m looking for in an ideal candidate […]

RSS Twitter

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS flickr

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Blog Mentions

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
This blog does not reflect the opinion of my employers and/or clients.
©2008 George H. Ruiz
TwitterCounter for @georgeruiz

